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ADULT
SITE BIBLE
Adult Verification Systems or AVS:
Companies which protect your adult content from being viewed by
minors. They do this by requiring your visitor to pay a nominal
fee of which a percentage is paid out to you.
Advertising
Network:
Typically a sales organization that manages the commerce, reporting
and serving of advertisements across a group of Web sites. An
ad network has the ability to deliver unique combinations of targeted
audiences because it serves your banner or ad across multiple
sites.
Affinity
Group:
A group of people with common interests. A special interest group
identified for purposes of targeting specific ads.
Agents:
1. Representatives who broker Web advertising space. 2. Software
programs (spiders).
Animated
GIF:
An animation created by combining multiple GIF images into one
file. The result is multiple images, displayed one after another,
that give the appearance of movement. Animated GIFs are very useful
for attracting/distracting Web surfers.
Backbone:
The primary conduit of electronic traffic in a network. Frequently
used to describe the major information arteries between networks
around the world.
Bandwidth:
The amount of information that can be transmitted over communications
lines at one time. The higher the bandwidth, the faster the Web
page loads. Limited bandwidth is the main reason for keeping pictures
small. Just as it seems we will never have fast enough computers,
it feels like we will never have enough bandwidth. The amount
of research and development money being thrown at this problem
should yield surprising results before long.
Banner:
Typically a rectangular graphic element which acts as an advertisement
on the Web and entices the viewer to click on it for further information,
typically on the advertiser's Web site.
Banner
Exchanges:
Yet another method of increasing traffic to your website. Visit
our listings for a detailed explanation of how each banner exchange
program works.
Banner
Network:
See Advertising Network above.
Billing
Options:
In order to run a subscription based website (or to sell anything
without requiring the customer to mail a check) you need to signup
with an online billing company (which will process orders generated
through your website).
Cache:
A file on the client computer that stores temporary text and graphics
for display in the browser. This speeds page viewing when you
hit the Back button. Institutional cache helps speed viewing when
many people use a common gateway to look at the same pages on
the Internet.
Click-Streams:
The electronic path a user takes while navigating from site to
site, or within a site from page to page.
Click-Through:
The act of clicking on a banner or other ad, which takes the user
through to the advertiser's Web site. Used as a counter point
to impressions to judge the response-inducing power of the banner.
Click-Through
Rate (CTR):
The response rate of an online advertisement, typically expressed
as a percentage and calculated by taking the number of click-throughs
the ad received, dividing that number by the number of impressions
and multiplying by 100 to obtain a percentage: Example: 20 clicks
/ 1,000 impressions = .02 x 100 = 2% CTR [Source: 3 ]
CPA:
Cost Per Action. The price paid by an advertiser for each "action"
that a content site delivers. "Action" may be a sale, a lead,
a successful form fill-out, a download of a software program or
an e-commerce sale of a product. Both the action, price and terms
of a CPA purchase are mutually agreed upon by the advertiser and
content site, and such a purchase typically involves a backend
tracking system provided by the advertiser that allows the content
site to view clicks and actions every 24 hours if they choose
to do so.
CPC:
Cost Per Click. The price paid by an advertiser to a content site.
When buying on a Cost Per Click model, the advertiser and content
site have mutually agreed that the content site will continue
to display the advertiser's ad creative until X number of clicks
have been delivered - the amount purchased. This pricing model
typically ranges between 10 cents CPC up to $2 CPC and as with
other forms of online advertising, is dependent on content, audience
reached and targeted delivery. Untargeted delivery is lower priced,
while ad creatives targeted to an affluent audience are at the
high end of the rate scale.
CPM:
Cost Per Thousand (Roman Numeral) impressions. The price paid
by an advertiser for a content site displaying their banner 1,000
times.
CPS:
Cost Per Sale or Signup. Price paid by an advertiser to a content
site for each sale that results from a visitor who is referred
from the content site to the advertiser's site. This type of buying
model is typically tracked with cookies [http://www.cookiecentral.com/],
where the cookie is offered on the content site and read on the
advertiser's site at the success page after successful completion
of one transaction/sale. Typical rates/bounties range between
five percent and 25 percent of the retail price of the product
or service being sold. See also CPA above.
Cookies:
Client-side text files that are used by Web servers to store information
about a visitor's behavior while navigating through the site.
The information collected in the cookie can only be read by the
server that authored the cookie. Cookies are used to identify
repeat visitors and track visitor behavior.
Copy:
The printed text or spoken words in an advertisement.
Counter:
In order to track the effectiveness of your marketing efforts
you will need information pertaining to your website's daily traffic
(how many 'hits/visitors' your website receives). Refer to the
following areas for a complete listing of online services which
provide such information.
Creative:
The concept, design and artwork that go into a given ad.
Daughter
Windows:
See Interstitial Ads. Advertising.com's term for Interstitial
Ads.
Credit
Card Processors:
Companies which allow you to accept credit cards as a form of
payment on your website. Such companies take a 9-18% cut off your
gross sales in exchange for letting you use their credit card
merchant account.
Custom
Programming:
Companies/individuals who can create custom designed scripts/software
for your e-business.
Demographics:
Common characteristics that allow for population segmentation.
Typical demographic data points include age, gender, postal code
and income.
Effective
Frequency:
The number of times an ad should be shown to one person to realize
the highest impact of the ad without wasting impressions on that
individual.
Effective
Reach:
The number of people who will see an ad the most effective number
of times. The most effective frequency.
Elasticity:
The relationship between a change in advertising budget and a
supposedly connected change in revenues.
Envelopes:
Many people are worried that the envelopes from their adult sponsor
could be offensive. All adult sponsors send they're checks in
blank white normal envelopes.
Exposures:
See Impression.
FAQ:
Frequently Asked Questions. A list of the most common inquiries
on a given subject.
Free
Hosting:
Companies which will host your website free of charge. In exchange
they place their advertisements on your web pages (generally at
the top & bottom of every page within your website).
Frequency:
The number of times a given person will see an ad in a given time
period.
Gallery
Posts or TGP:
Similar to Pic Posts, the only difference is that they do not
link to a single picture. You must create a web page containing
a series of pictures.
GIF:
Graphical Interchange Format. The most common file compression
format for banner ads and most other pictures on the Web.
Gross
Exposures/Gross Impressions:
The total number of times an ad is shown, including duplicate
showings to the same person.
Hits:
Every time a file is sent by a server, be it text, graphic, video
and so on, it is recorded as a hit. Not a reliable gauge to compare
different sites, as one page with five graphic elements will register
six hits when viewed, while a page with no graphics will only
register one hit.
Hosting:
In order for other people to view/access your website you must
use a web hosting company. Web hosting companies 'place' your
website on the Internet.
Impression:
The Opportunity To See (OTS) a banner or other ad by a surfer.
When a page that includes a banner is viewed, it is considered
an impression.
Interstitial
Ads:
Web pages that pop up between what the viewer is looking at and
what they are expecting to get. More like a TV commercial than
anything else on the Web (at the moment).
Inventory:
The amount of available space for banners on a Web site that can
be delivered in a given time period. Also known as the amount
of gross impressions per month (or clicks if the publishers is
selling on a Cost Per Click rate model) available for sale to
advertisers by a Web publisher.
IP
Address:
Internet Protocol Address. A unique number assigned to every computer
on the Internet, even if only temporarily.
Link:
A hypertext connection between two documents, image maps, graphics
and the like.
Link
Directories:
Websites which will place a link back to your website. They generally
require you to place a reciprocal link on your website.
Merchant
Accounts:
If you'd rather apply for your own credit card merchant account
(and end up paying only 2-4% off gross sales) then you should
contact these merchant account providers.
Newsgroup:
An electronic bulletin board open to everybody and divided into
tens of thousands of subjects. Only a handful of newsgroups permit
the posting of advertising.
Online
Check Processors:
Companies which allow you to accept checks 'online' as a form
of payment.
Opportunity
To See (OTS):
A page view is an OTS, but not necessarily an impression. The
page can be downloaded but if the banner is located at the bottom
of the page and the visitor does not scroll down, the banner is
not seen.
Page-View:
When a Web page is requested by somebody through a browser. Page-views
are often used to track the number of impressions a banner gets.
Pay-By-Phone
Processors:
Companies which allow you to 'charge' a customer by having them
call a telephone number (generally a 900 number).
Pic(ture)
Posts:
Websites which do not offer any pictures of their own, only of
other websites. In other words, they will display 'your' pictures
on 'their' website, in return they will place a link back to you
(which can send significant traffic to your website).
Pop-up
window:
A small window opens when you enter a site. Most surfers find
this innoying. Check tool section for popup window info.
Premium
Hosting:
Companies which will host your website for a monthly fee. The
advantage to using a Premium Host is that you have complete control
over your web pages (no advertisements). If you're serious about
making money then you should use a Premium Host.
Proxy:
A proxy server acts as a cache file for an organization. It is
also used where firewalls protect the internal network from the
external Internet, while continuing to serve Web pages from the
inside.
Psychographics:
Common psychological characteristics that allow for population
segmentation. Typical psychographic data points include opinions,
attitudes and beliefs about various aspects relating to lifestyle
and purchasing behavior.
Push:
While email is the quintessential "push" technology, the phrase
refers to tools that send information to a user's browser rather
than wait for the viewer to reach into the Web and "pull" the
information.Primary examples are PointCast, BackWeb and Marimba.
Reach:
The total number of people who will see a given ad.
Secure
payers:
All sponsors that we recieve complaints about are moved to the
spammers page. This is to ensure that all sponsors listed should
be secure payers.
Sell-Through
Rate:
The percentage of banner or other ads sold as opposed to traded
or bartered in an ad network.
Session:
A completed visit to a Web site by a surfer/viewer/visitor. A
session can start at the home page and last anywhere from mere
moments to hours, depending on the interest the visitor has in
the information, games and so on at the site.
Scripts:
Generally referred to as 'cgi' or 'perl', scripts add interactivity
and automation to your website.
Software:
Software programs for Windows & Macintosh computers.
Spam:
Originally posting an ad to multiple newsgroups, now used to describe
unsolicited email advertising. Named after a skit by Monty Python,
spam is one marketing and advertising technique to avoid at all
costs.
Sponsor:
Company which pays you in exchange for the traffic you send to
their subscription websites
Sponsor
Programs - Click Thrus:
Subscription based sites running programs which pay you a fixed/variable
dollar amount 'per click/visitor' sent from your website.
Sponsor
Programs - Pay Per Signup:
Programs which pay you a fixed/variable dollar amount 'per signup/sale'
generated through your website.
Sponsor
Programs - Partnerships:
Programs which pay you a percentage of all 'initial and recurring
sales' generated through your website.
Thumbnail
Gallery Posts or TGP:
Similar to Pic Posts, the only difference is that they do not
link to a single picture. You must create a web page containing
a series of pictures. Example TGP Site: http://www.xxxsexyweb.com
Top
Sites:
Websites which will place a link back to your website. However
your placement will depend on the number of visitors you send
them in comparison to the other websites listed on their web page.
Traffic:
The number and types of people who come to a Web site. Measured
in many different ways.
Traffic
Counter:
In order to track the effectiveness of your marketing efforts
you will need information pertaining to your website's daily traffic
(how many 'hits/visitors' your website receives). Refer to the
following areas for a complete listing of online services which
provide such information.
Tutorials:
Articles that will expand your knowledge and keep you informed
of important developments in the world of adult e-commerce (as
well as non-adult).
URL:
Uniform Resource Locator. The address of any particular page on
the World Wide Web.
Example: http://www.xmastercentral.com
Universe:
The total population in a given market segment used as the baseline
from which reach, frequency and response figures are calculated.
Web
Design:
Companies/individuals which specialize in designing, graphics,
animation and more for their use on the Net. Example: http://adult.atomicdigital.org
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